Sound is a mechanical wave that is an oscillation of pressure transmitted through a solid, liquid, or gas, composed of frequencies within the range of hearing. 

193 SOUND is a collection of musical sounds: continuous, regular, site-specific vibrations that tell the story of our small space in Lexington, Kentucky.

This compilation records the artists, performers, musicians, and general sound-makers who have emitted, transmitted, and radiated their own SOUNDS within our walls and that now travel into your range of hearing.


193 SOUND is a compilation album featuring songs by 25 musicians and artists who represent a wide variety of genres -from experimental noise to bluegrass- and who display the remarkable diversity of cultural production across the Southeast. 

The album will be available for sale on April 20, 2013. On that day, which coincides with Record Store Day, artists featured on the record will perform at CD Central in Lexington, KY.

Most of the artists included on the album have performed in Institute 193’s Lexington, KY gallery space. Others have collaborated with Institute 193 to explore personal projects that differ from their day-to-day musical work.

A majority of the musicians featured on 193 SOUND are from Kentucky: including Ben Sollee, Idiot Glee, Matt Duncan, Street Gnar, The Smacks!, Cross, Ellie Herring, Trailblazer, Goldenrod, Three Legged Race, Resonant Hole, and Warren Byrom and the Canelands.

Kentucky artists Robert Beatty and Ben Durham have contributed an experimental sound piece that pairs an electronic noise improvisation with the recitation of text from one of Durham's graphite drawings. The artists performed this piece at Institute 193 in December 2012; a version of the performance will take place at Nicole Klagsbrun Gallery (NYC) on May 11, 2013.

The writer, Silas House, delivers an introduction to the album, and also reads from a new work to the accompaniment of cellist Ben Sollee. House is the author of the best-selling novels Clay's Quilt, The Coal Tattoo, and Eli the Good. His essays have been published in the New York Times, Oxford American Magazine, Newsday, and the Southeast Review.

The record includes songs by artists from across the Southeast: the Atlanta band Ruby Velle and the Soulphonics, North Carolina fiddler Rayna Gellert, the Virginian duo Anna + Elizabeth, and the quilters Georgiana Pettway and Creola Pettway of Gee’s Bend, Alabama.

The album includes a track by Alabama artist and musician Lonnie Holley, whose 2012 debut album, Just Before Music, was produced by the Grammy-winning company Dust-to-Digital. Holley, a renowned visual artist whose work is included in the collections of the Smithsonian and the American Folk Art Museum, performed at the Whitney Museum of American Art on March 22, 2013.

193 SOUND also highlights music by ex-pat Southerners Morgan O’Kane, Zeke Healy, and Archer Prewitt. Prewitt, a native Kentuckian living in Chicago, plays with the critically acclaimed bands The Cocktails and The Sea and Cake, and is also the creator of the comic book series Sof' Boy.

The celebrated videographer, musician, and musicologist John Cohen, has contributed a rare recording of a traditional Appalachian song performed by the Shepherd Family circa 1960. This is the first time this song has been released.

PROMO VIDEO by Robert Beatty


1. Introduction – Silas House

2. Somebody’s Knocking – Georgiana B. Pettway and Creola B. Pettway

3. Cream Grid Reruns – Three Legged Race

4. Twenty Two, Twenty Two – Street Gnar

5. Remember Me – Morgan O’Kane

6. Don’t Look That Way – Ellie Herring

7. Heavy Dragoons – Warren Byrom and The Canelands

8. Inhuman Nature – Cross

9. Saturn Psalm – Goldenrod

10. O, KY – Archer Prewitt

11.  Shiver – Jules Trakker (Resonant Hole)

12. Trouble in Mind – Zeke Healy

13. Five Nights Drunk – The Shepherd Family

14. (Title to follow) – Silas House with Ben Sollee

15. Life Without Jazz – Idiot Glee

16. Don’t Need It Anyway – Trailblazer

17. Summer Song – Matt Duncan

18. Green Bottom Slave Ship – Lonnie Holley

19. Old Kimball – Anna and Elizabeth

20. DJ (excerpt) – Ben Durham and Robert Beatty

21. Role Model – MSIF + Boost

22. My Dear – Ruby Velle & The Soulphonics

23. 1845 – Rayna Gellert

24. Get It! Get On It! – The Smacks

25. Silent Night, November 28, 2012 - The Archive, Louis Zoellar Bickett II